What Do You Do For Money, Honey?

Wake Me Up When Movember Ends

It's official!

It’s official!

I was just looking through my Dates of Note for the rest of the year and a thought struck me. Yes, I know that’s rare, so I thought I’d commit it to paper/screen/whatever before a) I forgot it and b) I chickened out of it. So here goes.

Rooney

Well, he is a Scouser!

In recent years November has been ‘renamed’ Movember, originally (I think) to widen awareness of prostate cancer but it is now more widely seen as a way of raising awareness of men’s health in a more general way. To mark the event in manly style moustaches are grown, progress is evidenced by a series of embarrassing photos, and money is donated to charity as well as awareness being increased. Match of the Day begins to resemble a 70s retro version, and if they added the Keegan perm the look would be complete – think Harry Enfield’s Scousers, you won’t be far off. Taches to support Movember are grown by all kinds of men you thought would have more sense. And by Joey Barton.

The Adolf Chaplin look - on a Mael

The Adolf Chaplin look – on a Mael

At various stages of my life I’ve grown a full set, although my beard days are now over – I look far too much like Captain Birdseye for my own good. But I know I could grow a moustache that would be vaguely worthy of the name, so why not give it a go? I will have retired by then, so in the event of disaster I can hide until December. Although I’m not famous, except in my own mind, I’d hope that by spreading the word I can raise some money for a worthwhile cause, as well as doing my bit for awareness. 1,000+ follow me on Twitter, for reasons best known to themselves, and this site gets many more viewings than just from those who actually follow it – usually between 300 and 500 a week. That should be some help, I’d have thought. So, before I can renege on the idea, I thought I’d go public. There, it’s done. I feel better for that! But I’m guessing you may not, come Movember and the evidence 🙂

Piece of cake - I have a whole month!

Piece of cake – I have a whole month!

Nearer the time I’ll set up a page for donations and I’ll do a bit more research – if I can choose my own beneficiary I’ll pick a charity to support. It will probably be something to do with mental health but I’m open to suggestions, though anyone who mentions Help The Aged will be removed from my Christmas card list! I may even be brave/stupid enough to set a target to raise. Then I can put one of those big measuring scale things on here, like you see for the church roof restoration fund.

If nothing else, this should give you a little amusement! I hope I’ll be able to rely on your support: financial, moral, immoral or any other kind you like 😉

And if any big companies are looking for a plusplusplus-size moustache model for the autumn, you know where to find me……

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

