Let It Grow

Wake Me Up When Movember Ends (Again!)

MG474-MO13-Flag

Back in April I was suddenly struck by the idea that I could do something to help raise money for worthwhile charities by signing up for Movember – you know, that month when slugs appear under men’s noses. It seemed such a good idea that I blogged about it in What Do You Do For Money Honey – but now it’s time to really do something and make it happen! So I have signed up and am now starting to plead for donations. This is me:

My Mo Poster

My Mo Poster

I started the ball rolling by making a small donation, using the logic that if I didn’t support myself I couldn’t really expect anyone else to do so. Two kind people have already added to this and my total currently stands at £50. I’ve no idea what would be a good amount for someone like me to raise – I’m hardly a celebrity name known in every household! –  but I’d love to think that by the end of the month that £50 could increase to £500. That may be totally unrealistic, but every penny raised will go to a good cause.

MO13 Membership ShieldIn case you don’t know, Movember supports men’s health, specifically prostate cancer, which is where it started, but it also takes an interest in testicular cancer and mental health. All of these are extremely deserving of support and as those who know me will recognise it’s the last of these that is my particular interest. By raising funds, the Movember organisation hopes to provide active support for services for men with prostate cancer and for education programmes for them, their families and friends, and for us all.  There is a specific focus on early diagnosis, which is obviously vital in helping those afflicted to combat the disease and in giving them the best chance of overcoming it. The Movember website tells you all you need to know, whether you just want to find out more, or donate, or even to join up – it’s only three days into Movember so you won’t be at much of a disadvantage in developing a luxuriant growth! Those of us taking part are known as ‘Mo Bros’ but if you are unable to grow a moustache on the basis of being female you can also show your support by becoming a ‘Mo Sista’ – the website tells you how. If anyone would like to be my Mo Sista I’d be honoured! You will see plenty of support for Movember throughout the month. Many celebrities take part – Stephen Fry did it last year, for example.  A number of sports people also grow a Mo – and so does Joey Barton.

I hope you can support Movember in one way or another – or in more than one if you like! If you are intending to donate, I’d be thrilled if you would do it on my Movember page to help get my total as high as possible. But any donation, however and wherever it is made, will support the cause.

As an excuse to keep reminding you about this I’ll be posting regular updates about the state of my growth. If I’m lucky, I could end Movember looking like this:

Or maybe not!

Or maybe not!

Watch this space 🙂

3 thoughts on “Let It Grow

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

