Looking back, looking ahead – 2013 and all that

The WordPress.com stats guys have prepared a 2013 annual report for my blog. I shared the 2012 version with you so thought I’d do it again, as it’s interesting – well, to me at least! 2013 was my first full calendar year in the blogworld and I’m amazed at some of this information. Nearly 22,000 views from people in 104 countries, wow! That certainly shows the power of what is rightly called the World Wide Web. Mind you, looking at the map I’m obviously just not appealing to large parts of Africa and Asia, and I clearly need to do more to break big in Greenland! Maybe I should get some gigs other than the 8 at the Sydney Opera House? Any advice will, of course, be gratefully received – preferably of a constructive nature please!

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 22,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 8 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

As we start the new year I feel that this blog is at something of a crossroads. Since I retired my life and outlook have changed a lot, and I have a number of things I want to do this year which I hope to be sharing with you in some way – when I think you’d find them of interest, naturally. Whilst I’m still very keen to promote the cause of mental health sufferers, especially where this involves abuse, ignorance and stigma, I want to broaden my horizons. But others are blogging about these issues in far more eloquent words than I could ever achieve, so I’ll be focussing less on that here. I’ll still write the occasional piece on this theme, of course, and will do some more of my Dates To Note, but not as many as before and as part of a wider range of topics. I hope you’ll like what I do and continue to read and support me. I’m also intending to broaden my online presence to complement developing the blog. As many of you know I’ve been on Twitter for almost three years now, but have used it much less for the past year or so, since I was subject to abuse which took a lot of the fun out of it. I’ve lost contact with some friends but have made some good new ones too, and I want to make a concerted effort to be more forthcoming there. I’m trying to work out a way of bringing my other online persona into this too – I have accounts with Instagram, Vine, Facebook and even Audioboo and I just don’t think I’ve worked them all out yet. So watch those spaces!

That’s enough rambling for now. I wish a very Happy New Year and my heartfelt thanks to all of you taking the time to read this. And I hope to see you again soon.

One thought on “Looking back, looking ahead – 2013 and all that

  1. Pingback: My Life Is Now | Clive's Blog

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

