Man Of The World

Day 3 of National Blog Posting Month and I’m still here! For today’s post I thought I’d share with you a song that has been a favourite of mine since it was released in April 1969. That must have been a good year: Bryan Adams clearly thought so when he wrote Summer Of 69, also a favourite of mine. My song is this:

 

This was the original Fleetwood Mac at their best: an understated, uncomplicated piece of music, beautifully played, with mature, heartfelt lyrics. And Peter Green was only 22 when he wrote this. The search for love and meaning in life has long been a recurring theme for writers – not just songwriters – but for me this song describes it perfectly.

This song brings back so many memories for me. I was 15, and turned 16 that September. It was a momentous week that saw not only my birthday but also my first set of wheels – an old Lambretta LD scooter – and the separation of my parents. Prior to that we’d had a family holiday on a caravan site and the song brings back memories of me playing this on the clubhouse jukebox, gazing longingly at a beautiful girl of about my age who was staying there too. We were both too shy to talk to each other though, sadly, so the song really fits the memory! It was also the first year that I had a proper summer holiday job, which I started the morning after being up in the middle of the night watching the first men walking on the moon. For me, 1969 was the year I started to grow into adulthood.

So many memories from one simple, beautiful song that still makes the hairs on my neck stand up when I listen to it. Music has always been a hugely important part of my life and I’m constantly entranced by its power to evoke emotions as well as provide such varied entertainment. If only I had some musical talent of my own!

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

