In Others’ Words

For today I thought I’d do something a little different. Instead of just giving you my words I’d like to share with you some quotations by others. For me, a good quotation has to do one, several or all of the following:

be funny or amusing;

make me think;

say something meaningful;

be clever in its use of words;

be concise.

I’ve chosen a few to share with you which I hope you won’t already know, and hope they meet at least one of my criteria for you.

First, a plea to be left alone for a while:

“Mr J Ruskin is about to begin a work of great importance and therefore begs that in reference to calls and correspondence you will consider him dead for the next two months.” (from a circular attributed to John Ruskin)

Something you might expect of a Conservative Prime Minister:

“When I want to read a novel, I write one.” (Benjamin Disraeli)

On the rock and roll lifestyle:

“The others had their booze and drugs, I had my women. I thought that was safer: you can’t overdose on women.” (Bill Wyman, Rolling Stones)

A lovely quote on racial prejudice:

“Being a star has made it possible for me to be insulted in places where the average Negro could never hope to be insulted.” (Sammy Davis Jr.)

On a similar theme, when being refused admittance to a posh beach club:

“As my daughter is only half-Jewish can she be allowed to go into the water up to her knees?” (Groucho Marx)

I wish I could live up to this one, well, half of it:

“It is always the best policy to speak the truth – unless, of course, you are an exceptionally good liar.” (Jerome K. Jerome)

Next, one on travel which still holds good today:

“The only way of catching a train I ever discovered is to miss the train before.” (G.K.Chesterton)

And to close this little collection of thoughts, a couple on life:

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.” (Confucius)

“The purpose of our lives is to be happy.” (Dalai Lama)

I’m happy with that! Have a good day!

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

