Something For The Weekend, Sir?

It’s the weekend! (in case you hadn’t noticed – no need to thank me, it’s all part of the service!) As it’s a time for most of us to relax and recharge the batteries after the trials and tribulations of the working week, I thought I’d try to do nothing more today than entertain you. As I mentioned earlier in the week, music has always played an important role in my life and I’ve chosen a few songs for you that I hope will lighten your weekend.

The first is by an English singer/songwriter who may be unfamiliar to many: Frank Turner. I love the rough edge to his music, the feeling of spontaneity he gives you. This is from his most recent album, Tape Deck Heart, and it has a killer chorus! Apt title for a Saturday morning, too!

In a rather different vein, and to prove that I’m down with the kids (yeah, right!) here’s the new one, currently ‘riding high in the charts,’ (ahem!) from my guilty pleasure, Taylor Swift. I don’t know why, I just enjoy her music so much! Another catchy chorus too:

Another band that I love, both for their original music and their cover versions, is Walk Off The Earth. Here’s their newest video, released 4 days ago and already over 800,000 YouTube views:

Recognise it? The first of their videos that I ever saw has become an internet staple now, with over 161m views. You’ve probably seen it before but I think it’s worth another look, as it’s simply stunning:

Fancy another? This is a song and video that just defies anyone to watch it and not feel happier afterwards. Thank you, The Lumineers!:

I had planned to finish with that one but can’t resist sharing just one more. For those outside the UK, who won’t have seen these before, the department store John Lewis has built up a ‘tradition’ over the past few years of Christmas adverts that share the magic of that special day. This year’s launched a couple of days ago, and already has 6.5m views on YouTube. It is beautiful:

The music, by the way, is Tom Odell covering John Lennon’s Real Life.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this musical interlude. Have a great weekend!

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

