Don’t Give Up

I know I said I was only going to post Christmas-related pieces this month but this is too significant for me to pass by unnoticed. As I have often said, I started this blog to share my experiences of depression, in the hope that this would be helpful to other sufferers. Amazingly – to me, anyway – it has been, and many have told me this. So, especially for those who also suffer from this dreadful illness, I wanted to share here a post I made to Facebook friends on Monday:

image

Click to enlarge

Of course, I’m not sufficiently naïve to think that I may never need anti-depressants again. Depression is a pervasive disease, and it can return. It doesn’t need any triggers and, whilst I am happy and enjoying life at present there is no guarantee that this will always be true. But I think it is important to share this to give a message. Four years ago I didn’t think I could ever live without medication to support me. Counselling was a huge help, when it eventually happened, and I have continued to improve since then. I know from reading your posts that many of you are suffering from depression right now, and the experiences you share are, sadly, very recognisable to me. My message is:

Please, don’t ever give up!

It may not seem possible now but things can and will get better for you. Try to concentrate on the positives in your life – yes, there are always some to be found, however hard it may be to see them. Stay strong, take help and support when they are offered, and focus on where you want to be and how you want to feel. You won’t suddenly be ‘cured,’ in fact I doubt that we could ever describe ourselves as being that, but take the little steps. They lead you towards where you want to be.

And if you think I can be of any help to you, as a virtual sounding board or to ask anything of me, I am always happy to chat with you. If you’d like that to be private feel free to use the Contact Me form and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can. And if you want to know what this is all about for me, take a look at the posts in the My Story menu above.

Take care.

8 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up

  1. This post reminded me that I have two people in my life who are struggling with depression. I have promised myself that I will connect with them every few days, but sometimes forget. One of them uses a computer, so I’ll direct her to your blog. You are on the right track. I am so happy you are off medication. According to my two friends, medication for depression has severe side-effects.

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words, and for following my blog. I’ll return the compliment. I hope your friend finds something here to help. I know that the medication doesn’t work for everyone and that there can be side effects. I was lucky: I had some of these but they changed the drug and I had no further problems. Hopefully your friend will find something that helps.

      Like

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

