American Pi

I originally posted this piece last year, as one of my now very occasional Dates To Note series. As it is Pi Day again in the US I thought it worth dusting down and sharing again for newer readers. At least American youth isn’t being expected to spend a weekend solving maths problems this year!

Take It Easy

As every schoolkid should know, the fattest knight at King Arthur’s Round Table was Sir Cumference. He got that way from too much pi.

Or maybe not.

I’d been thinking that it was about time I did another of my Dates To Note and, while looking to see what March had to offer, I was struck by the juxtaposition of two of them. In the UK last week was British Pie Week, whilst in the USA 14 March is National Pi Day. Being a good British citizen of proportions that make me the answer to the football fans’ chanted question ‘Who ate all the pies?’ I was naturally drawn to this. However on further investigation I found that it was in fact a ‘celebration’ by Jus-Rol who make…yes, you guessed it…pastry. You can click the link above if you want to find out more, but I wouldn’t bother…

View original post 587 more words

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

