You Go To School And You Learn To Read And Write

This came up in my timeline today as a memory from exactly three years ago today. At that time I was just over two weeks away from retirement, and it seemed natural to be looking ahead. It is only a short post but, because of what it represents for me, it has always been one of my favourites. As most of you reading this wouldn’t have been following me way back then, I thought it worth giving it another airing. I hope you like it.

Take It Easy

Daily Prompt: Can’t Drive 55

I haven’t posted for one of the daily prompts for a while – or anything else, come to that – but I was rather taken with the challenge in today’s, which reads:

Take the third line of the last song you heard, make it your post title, and write for a maximum of 15 minutes. GO!

As I’ve been fighting headaches and a migraine all week I haven’t listened to any music since last weekend, so I had to check on my iPod what that last song was. It turned out to be this:

As I’ve mentioned before I am a long time fan of Steve Earle, and this song comes from his first full-length studio album, Guitar Town, which was released in 1986. The third line of the song goes:

You go to school and you learn to read and write

A fairly basic…

View original post 518 more words

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

