Trauma and Psychological First Aid (World Mental Health Day)

I was thinking of posting to mark the fact that today is World Mental Health Day but, having read this post by Ella, she has said it all for me! Please take some time to read her post – she is a great writer – and get to know a little bit about what today is marking.

Thank you 😊

Dearest Someone,

With a large cup of coffee I’m sat downstairs in my house, waiting for 9am so I can get in my car and drive to work without having to sit through anxiety inducing, stressful traffic that comes as an added extra when you live in a city. Traffic – annoying for everyone, provokes my anxiety so much that I’ve often sat in my car at a standstill, with what feels like the world crashing down on me. It can feel as though there’s not enough oxygen; traffic triggers and agitates me so much that I’m often left battling with myself to not cry – I don’t cry that often, so this makes me hate traffic even more. The thought of sitting in traffic this morning is pretty intimidating, more so as I’ve had a rough night’s sleep.

When I woke up at 5am, after falling asleep a few hours before my…

View original post 869 more words

4 thoughts on “Trauma and Psychological First Aid (World Mental Health Day)

    • Thank you Diane. Ella is remarkable. Going through so much, well-supported but blisteringly honest about everything. I rarely reblog anything, but the fact that this is the second time I have done that for Ella is a mark of the respect I have for both her writing and the way she is leading her life. It would be great if you could show your support by following her blog, if you haven’t already!

      Like

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

