3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 1

You have probably seen a few recent posts in which someone has been invited to participate in the three quotes for three days challenge. Now it’s my turn! I’ve been asked to do this by the lovely Olive Ole, who is one of those people I admire for posting in English when it isn’t their first language. I could never do that! Her blog is a great mix of posts on life and family, with a wry sense of humour and some amazing photos as well. Do please take a look at her blog if you don’t already know it, you won’t regret it.

Judging by the various posts I’ve seen on this challenge, no one seems to be clear whether we should be posting one quote per day – three in total in the three days – or three quotes per day. Sharing in that confusion, I’m just going to do my own thing, so you may see between one and three per day, or more. But not fewer!

I’ve got myself sufficiently organised to theme my three days. I know, remarkable eh?! I thought I’d start with some of my favourite quotes around mental health, as that has been my theme for the past couple of weeks. Starting with this, from a man who has been in the news again recently because someone who is clearly in need of treatment for a narcissistic disorder, as well as his megalomaniac tendencies and several other problems, chose to attack him in an attempt to hide his own major shortcomings:

He probably never spoke a truer word! I recently wrote about stigma, and hope that more people with his public standing share this message. Sadly, I have to recognise that he will generate more attention than I will!

The next set of wise words comes from somewhere way out on left field:


So it’s from a film, from a fictional character – so what? The message here is one which is central for all of us, and one which is very easy for those struggling with mental health problems to forget. Trusting in yourself is an essential step towards coping with your problems and to being who you really are.

For my third and final one today I’m going to healthyplace.com, whose link you can click at the top of my blog. This is why I was encouraged to start blogging and, four years on, it remains as true now as it was then:


I’m inspired every day by something I read in a blog. I hope it will always be like that.

The rules of the challenge – in case you haven’t seen them before – are:

  1. Three quotes for three days.
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

My Day 1 nominees are:

Haddon Musings

Joanne Eddy’s blog

Health from one Heart to Another

I’ve tried to pick people who I believe haven’t done this before and who I think will post some great quotes. I must emphasise that there is absolutely no compulsion to accept this challenge so please don’t feel that you have to do it if you’d prefer not to. But I hope you do 🙂

Back again tomorrow for Day 2.

17 thoughts on “3 Days 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 1

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

