3 Day 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 2

I’m back for day 2 of my three quotes for three days challenge. As I said yesterday – i.e. Day 1! –  I’ve been asked to do this by the lovely Olive Ole, who is one of those people I admire for posting in English when it isn’t their first language. I could never do that! Her blog is a great mix of posts on life and family, with a wry sense of humour and some amazing photos as well. Do please take a look at her blog if you don’t already know it, you won’t regret it.

As I also said yesterday I’m theming my three days. Having started with some of my favourite quotes around mental health I’m moving today to another subject that is important to me: retirement. This may not be an obvious choice for many but it happens to us all at some point and, if you haven’t already reached the milestone, take it from me that you will see how important a life change it is as your time draws inexorably closer. Should retirement be viewed as a negative, the end of an era, the sign that you are getting old? Or should it be a time to look forward to the next step in your life, an exciting time of new challenges and opportunities? I know which I’d prefer, and my chosen quotes reflect that. If you want to know more on my views on retirement, take a look at the posts under that heading in the menu above!

This isn’t an easy topic for which to find three suitable quotes: none of my chosen three actually uses the word ‘retirement.’ It doesn’t feature as a topic in books of quotations – well, not in any that I have, at any rate. And it isn’t a subject which writers often address, apart from ‘helpful’ articles from finance companies trying to get their grubby little hands on our pension funds. Where it does feature, such as in the Agatha Raisin novels by M C Beaton, it is really no more than a plot device. Google isn’t much help either, unless you want to use greetings cards as a source for your quotations. I don’t! So today’s selection stretches things a little, but the quotes do make my point.

I very much doubt that my first one today was said with retirement in mind, but it is, I think, relevant as advice for the way that we should be thinking as we approach retirement. It is also a very good piece of life advice, from a very special man who was taken from us far too young:

img_2830

If we aren’t moving forwards with our lives, what are we actually trying to do?

Another good piece of life advice which I also think is very relevant to our retirement comes from the author C S Lewis – you know, the guy who had a thing about lions and witches in his wardrobe:

img_2843

Absolutely spot on! Why should we ever stop dreaming or planning, just because we age a little every day? We have a future – we should plan for it!

My final quote for today is very similar, but does, I think, add support for the view that, whilst we may always have had dreams about how we want our lives to be, we shouldn’t hold back from trying to make them come true:

img_2849

So, if you are thinking ahead to retirement, above all: BE POSITIVE, GO FORWARD!

To recap, in case you missed them yesterday, the rules of the challenge are:

  1. Three quotes for three days.
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

My Day 2 nominees are:

Pears Not Parsnips

Stevie Turner, Indie Author

Around ZuZu’s Barn

I’ve tried to pick people who I believe haven’t done this before and who I think will post some great quotes. I must emphasise that there is absolutely no compulsion to accept this challenge so please don’t feel that you have to do it if you’d prefer not to. But I hope you do 🙂

Back again tomorrow for Day 3.

 

3 thoughts on “3 Day 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 2

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

