3 Day 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

It’s the final day of my three quotes for three days challenge. As I said before I’ve been asked to do this by the lovely Olive Ole – do please take a look at her blog if you don’t already know it, you won’t regret it. Just click on the link to the English posts, unless you can read Norwegian!

As I said in my two previous posts for this, I’ve themed my three days. Having started with some of my favourite quotes around mental health, and then moving on to retirement, I’m closing today with another subject that matters to me: music. Music is such an important part of my life, and always has been. I believe that it is essential to our wellbeing, and the fact that music therapy is used in the treatment of some mental health problems seems to support me in this. Music has existed in some form throughout human existence, and has often been quoted by various writers and commentators: it soothes the savage breast (or is that beast, I never know), it is the food of love etc etc. I had already planned to make this subject choice but it feels even more appropriate to be doing this the day after Bob Dylan was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature. I do have my nagging doubts about that however: in some way, by awarding him the prize they are – rightly – recognising the genius of his lyrics, but aren’t they also separating these from the whole of his music, and music in general? Isn’t music the sum of all of its parts? Too deep and philosophical for me, but it might be the subject of a post at some point, if I can get my head around it.

As befits my wide musical taste, I’ve chosen an eclectic mix to demonstrate what I think music means, starting with one of the earliest writers still known to us:

img_2850

To be honest, I could probably leave it at that. I’ve always thought that a beautiful description – the words are almost musical in themselves. But I want to share more with you, like this one, from another early commentator on the human condition:

img_2857

We all need pleasure in our lives, and music can give us so much. Or to put it another way, from possibly an unexpected source:

img_2856

I’ve always thought of Nietzsche as being in some way harder-edged than some philosophers, and that quote is typically blunt and to the point. But he encapsulates the meaning of music for our lives, albeit in a negative way!

So, there you have it. The importance of music, in three quotes. But wait, shouldn’t there be something else for a musical performance? Of course, the encore! So here, updating it in more modern words, is my encore:

img_2853

Yup, that does it for me!

A final day recap on the rules of the challenge, in case you haven’t seen them before:

  1. Three quotes for three days.
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

My Day 3 nominees are:

Anyone who is reading this! Yes, you! Having played by the rules for the first two days, I hit a major problem in choosing for today: I follow around 250 blogs, some more avidly than others, it has to be admitted. Choosing from among these was nigh on impossible, so I’ve wimped out. I’ve had a lot of fun doing this so I thought it only fair to give you all the chance to do it too. Let me know if you do, and I’ll be looking out for you.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my three days of quotes and have followed the links to my previous nominees. And thanks again to Olive Ole for nominating me – it’s been fun 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “3 Day 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3

  1. I was thrilled at Dylan being a recipient.
    A school teacher of mine referred to him as “the beginning the middle and the end” and as “the barometer of our times”. Dylan’s words have been so important over such a long time and I think do in their own way stand apart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m very pleased for him too, and for rock/pop music in general to get such recognition. Maybe I’m just being old, traditional or rigid in my view that the lyrics are part of a bigger picture, of which the music is also an intrinsic part. I’ve just read a long piece in the Sunday Times which told me that anyone who thought his lyrics unworthy of the prize was pathetic, so that’s me told! But I wouldn’t be surprised if Leonard Cohen is feeling a little overlooked.

      Like

      • And therein lies the problem with awards such as this: they are subjective, and how can you establish criteria to measure the respective quality of potential candidates? I’m pleased for Dylan and the recognition his writing has been given, for the many years through which he has been influential. I just hope they give it to Cohen next year. And that they never consider Justin Bieber!

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

