Christmas

This post from a year ago today popped up in my Timehop feed, which prompted me to re-read what I had written. Although the TV programme links only work in the UK, I thought it worth reposting this for the many new followers of my blog who have joined since I wrote this. (The programmes are being repeated at 5pm on the 21st and 22nd December, for those in the U.K.).

My wishes for this Christmas period are still the same – and in fact have probably been heightened by world events in the past twelve months. Times have changed since the idyllic Christmases of my childhood, and in many ways those changes haven’t been for the better. I know I sound a bit like a beauty pageant contestant wishing for world peace, but is that really too much to hope for? We could at least lower the levels of hatred which are becoming ever more prevalent in society, couldn’t we? Please…..

Take It Easy

Over the past two evenings the BBC here in the UK has run a kind of reality documentary called Back In Time For Christmas. The basic premise of this was to transport a family back to the experience of a typical Christmas of previous decades. The first programme looked at the 1940s, 1950s and 1960s, whilst the second covered the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. My apologies if those links to the BBC’s iPlayer don’t work outside the UK, I’m not sure on the availability!

These programmes featured the same family – the Robshaws – who had been the guinea pigs for a previous series called Back In Time For Dinner, which transported them back to previous decades but without the Christmas theme. Despite my feeling that some of the ‘facts’ given to us in the voiceover may have been wide of the mark I find this kind of…

View original post 773 more words

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

