Leaving On A Jet Plane

I’ve had a couple of attempts in recent weeks at contributing to the Writer’s Workshop, run by John Holton. These have been tolerably successful so I thought I’d give it another go. John’s post outlining this week’s prompts can be found here, and I’m going with #6 – my first airplane trip – with a little side order of #3 – foods I would gorge on if the calories didn’t count.

This wasn’t my first time in a flying machine, as I had previously enjoyed several helicopter rides at the annual village fair where I grew up. This was a big event, and one year the special attraction was helicopter rides over the Kent countryside, taking off from the neighbouring field. My Dad was one of the organisers, and quite by chance (!) a small boy was needed as weight balance if any parent was accompanied by just one child. I had to help, didn’t I! I was probably about 9 or 10, and the enjoyment of that afternoon has been etched in my mind ever since.

But my first time in an airplane came many years later – I was a late starter. My (now ex-) wife and I took our first holiday overseas in 1979. We knew little of overseas travel at that time – my only previous experience was spending my tip money in the bar at Calais Maritime station during the summer I worked on the cross-Channel ferries, which hardly counts. But we took the plunge and booked ourselves a package holiday. The excitement grew over the summer, as we were taking it late – early September, so that I could celebrate my birthday in a foreign land. How adventurous we were! The big day came, and my dear father-in-law drove us to Luton Airport (famed from the Campari ads, for those of a certain generation) in plenty of time for our flight, which was around 10am, I think. We had to find something to do, so we went to one of the restaurants for a hearty breakfast, not knowing where our next meal would be coming from, or when. Suitably replete, we took our seats on the plane, and I made the mistake of being caught gazing at one of the beautiful stewardesses. Fortunately, it was by her and not my wife, and following a wink of thanks from her I then enjoyed lovely smiles for the rest of the flight.

The first of these came shortly after we had taken off. Following the pre-flight ritual arm waving and pointing – another excuse to train my eyes on that beauty – we were then advised that breakfast would be served. Oh. Should we decline it, saying we had already eaten? But hey, we were paying for this so we might as well get our money’s worth, so we went for it. Guess which stewardess was serving our part of the plane? I managed to consume the meal, which was better than I was expecting, and all went well for the rest of the flight. We even managed to get some duty free booze to enjoy during the holiday in our hotel room – litre bottles, no less, none of that 750ml stuff we got in shops back home.

Where were we going, I think I hear you asking. Well, it was here:

We were enjoying two weeks in Sorrento, on the Bay of Naples. It is a beautiful location, and even in early September it was much hotter than temperatures we were used to back in Blighty. We enjoyed days of sunbathing at the beach – which was on special decks, as the sand was an unpleasant grey colour, having been thrown down a few years before by the nearby Mount Vesuvius. We took several excursions during our stay, one of which was to Pompeii and Vesuvius. It felt incredible to see such an historical sight, and we were able to walk up the volcano and peer into the crater – clearly they weren’t expecting another eruption. Pompeii was amazing, though we humble tourists weren’t allowed to see the more adult parts – those who had been caught in flagrante back in 79AD. We also went on the long day trip, which involved a 7.30 am start for a journey all the way to Rome, arriving back at our hotel around midnight. It was worth it though. I still remember our stop at the Catacombs, on the outskirts of Rome, when my wife – oblivious to what we were seeing – said in her best Essex Girl way “they could get a lot more in here, couldn’t they?”

My nod to John’s prompt #3 is  for one of the things we just had to do while we were in Italy. Two of my favourite foods are pasta and pizza, and we were well served for pasta in the hotel dinners, but pizza was never on the menu. One evening when we were out for a stroll into town we decided that we had to try the real thing, so at around 11pm we found ourselves in a pizzeria knocking back our second meal of the night. That Luton Airport breakfast training was standing us in good stead! We mentioned where we had been to the hotel receptionist when we got back and he told us that we had made a good choice: we had picked his favourite pizzeria in town, and we were happy to confirm that it was indeed very good. Dominos eat your heart out!

I said when I first did one of these that I would try to keep them free of music. But an advert is OK, isn’t it? For anyone who didn’t get the Campari reference earlier, here is a London Girl, Lorraine Chase, at her finest:

Having ventured into YouTube to find that, I can now hear the siren call of the song from which I borrowed the title of this piece. I must resist the temptation, mustn’t I? But, in my best Oscar Wilde fashion, I can’t:

Sorry 🤣

78 thoughts on “Leaving On A Jet Plane

  1. Pingback: That Was March | Take It Easy

  2. Pingback: Leaving On A Jet Plane – Build a better world

  3. Pingback: Leaving On A Jet Plane – Site Title

  4. Pingback: Leaving On A Jet Plane

  5. The title of your post brought back so many memories: Leaving on a jet plane.

    I have been fortunate that my husband had a private pilot license, and we did quite a bit of flying (for pleasure) and now that we are in Canada and our family in South Africa, yes I have used the jet plane to go and visit over the past 25 years.

    Thanks so much for participating and sharing at SSPS 303.  See you again next week! 

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to have brought those memories back for you. I had fun writing this post, and it seems to have taken off (pun intended) in a big way, with more than double the likes a typical post of mine attracts. I suspect you’ve flown a lot more than I have 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe, due to flying with my husband and the kids going on vacation in SA and as mentioned now that we are in Canada and family in SA, I have made a handful of trips over the past 25 years, but I think my taking off in a jet plane time has come to an end.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s more than I have! I don’t travel much anywhere these days, by any mode of transport, and I guess the time to stop flying comes to us all at some point.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A good choice for your first flight. My aunt and uncle went on their one and only overseas holiday to Sorento – a change from their usual caravan in the New Forest. I think my uncle wanted to see Pompei before he died! Italy was actually the last time I flew, we went to Umbria in September early this century. It was beautiful. 

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Apparently I got an early start on airplane travel as I can remember my mom telling a story about flying down to see her sister and having a real short layover between our two flights. She was flying solo with me and my older sister but I was only a baby or a toddler at the time and she cautiously handed me off to a stranger that happened to be taking the two same flights as the pair of them dashed through the airport with me and my sister to make the second flight.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Site Title

  9. Wow! You might not have flown on an airplane at an early age, but you went for it when you did. Sounds like a magnificent trip.

    In thinking of my son’s first airplane flight (he was between 1 and 2), I remember we gave him something to help him sleep on the plane. He fell asleep in my arms and didn’t wake up for another five hours. The stewardess came by with dinner, and I didn’t want move a muscle. As I remember, my wife may have spoon fed me a couple of bites. Obviously, she was traveling with two babies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a lovely holiday, and I did enjoy that flight, though possibly for the wrong reason.

      That sounds like a lovely memory for you. I hope you remind him of that when he’s a father too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely post, thanks for sharing your memories. You make me want to have real Italian pizza. I’ve only been to Rome and, though we had pasta there, it was a very poor quality and we never had pizza. The reason was the fact that it was a school trip and the school had to keep things as cheap as possible. The best pizza I’ve ever had was in Zug, Switzerland, where my spouse and I went on our honeymoon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, that’s kind of you to say. We struck lucky with that pizza, on a completely random choice! Sorry to hear that you haven’t had the best of Italian cuisine – hopefully you can go back there some time and have more luck.

      Like

  11. I’ve always said you can’t spend enough time in Italy. I’m glad it was your first trip on a plane.
    PS. I love ‘Leaving on a Jet Plane’, particularly John Denver’s version. I was lucky enough to see him play it live once, it was the highlight of a special concert.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a beautiful country, and the people are lovely.

      I was never a John Denver fan. PP&M had the big hit with it here and that has always been the version I prefer. Glad you enjoyed the concert, though 😊

      Like

    • It was indeed. Our first time abroad and you don’t forget that. If you get the chance, take it. If not, just listen to Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “What If We Went To Italy” to make up for it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  12. A truly fun read ….I really enjoyed it!
    We have visited Sorrento…. It’s love isn’t it. We visited Pompey and Herculaneum,and we drove the Amalfi coast among other things, we also caught the ferry to Capri which was lovely but very expensive . Great holiday 🎊

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a great country – we loved it and went back to the east coast a few years later. They packed a lot into that day trip: the Colosseum, Vatican, Trevi Fountain and more. Hectic, fun, and very memorable. We did a day trip to Venice on our second holiday there.

      Like

  13. Clive, seems a winner of a holiday from the get-go! I’ve only ever been to Florence but your descriptions of your trip have me wanting to head back to Italy! The Campari advert is so bad it’s funny – ‘wafted in from Paradise’!! 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was, Annika. We also had a holiday at Cattolica, near Rimini. The long trip from there was Florence but my wife didn’t fancy it. I’d have loved even a day there. Lovely country and lovely people.

      They did a whole series of those ads. They were kind of a send up of the Martini ones with Joan Collins. All very funny.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.