Tuesday Tunes 202: Alcohol

I think it is about time that I give you a new, unused theme for these posts, and I was pondering what to choose when I saw an advert for a drink. The plan quickly fell into place, and the beauty of this is that there are several varieties I could go with: there will be a ‘beverages’ version coming soon, but for today I’m going with what most of us think of when someone asks if we’d like a drink, even though I’m not allowed it for medical reasons. So my vicarious kicks will come from playing you a set of tunes themed around: alcohol.

Let’s get off to a rousing start. What’s yours – a whisky drink, a vodka drink, a lager drink, a cider drink…

If you didn’t already know, that was Chumbawamba with Tubthumping, one of my favourite UK chart hits of the past thirty years or so. They were a British ‘anarchist punk’ band formed in 1982 and disbanded in 2012. Their repertoire was wider than that description might suggest, though: they also had elements of folk music as part of their act, and I actually saw them around 2009 as part of a multi-band folk music event. I wasn’t sure quite what to expect from them, but they were every but as good as I had hoped, and yes, they closed their set with this one and brought the house down. The single of that was released in August 1997 and got to #2 in the UK, #1 in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Italy and Ireland, and #6 in the US. It was also included on their album Tubthumper, which came out the following month, peaking at #19 in the UK, #2 in Canada and #3 in the US. If ever a band could be defined by one record, this was it, though they did feature in the charts on several other occasions. My abiding memory of this was the annual work Christmas party, when our HR Director did his own slightly manic version of the dance you saw in the video, and one year I made the mistake of being near him when the song came on: there was no escape!

I mentioned the dreaded words ‘folk music’ there, didn’t I. This next one is a traditional folk tune which I first heard on an album by Tim Hart and Maddy Prior of Steeleye Span, but this version by the great Irish band Planxty gets the nod today. It’s a song warning of the dangers of over-imbibing:

Planxty were formed in January 1972, and this video features their original lineup of Christy Moore (vocals, acoustic guitar, bodhrán), Andy Irvine (vocals, mandolin, mandola, bouzouki, hurdy-gurdy, harmonica), Dónal Lunny (bouzouki, guitars, bodhrán, keyboards), and Liam O’Flynn (uilleann pipes, tin whistle). They were a multi-talented bunch, who have all gone on to build their own careers in music. Christy Moore, who takes the lead vocal here, is probably the best known, but the others can all be seen on various videos on YouTube: at one time it seemed obligatory to have Dónal playing with your band – he was everywhere! Three Drunken Maidens was released as a single in 1972 but as far as I can tell it didn’t make the charts – I’d be surprised if it wasn’t a hit in Ireland but Wikipedia isn’t telling. It doesn’t appear to have been on any of their albums, either, though it is included on compilations.

Continuing the Irish theme now, with one of the bands I recently featured in my “Irish” Music post. They are actually from Germany, but who’s counting? This is a song with a story:

That was The O’Reillys and The Paddyhats with Barrels of Whisky. They were formed in 2012 and I’d like to tell you more about them, but I’m afraid my fifty years old German A-level isn’t up to translating their Wikipedia page! This was one of their earlier tunes, from their debut album Seven Hearts One Soul, which was released in 2016. Deutschepedia doesn’t show it as having charted in their native Germany, though several of their more recent records have. It’s a fun song and video, and as I’m a big fan of their German/Irish folk/punk style I just had to play it.

Another one on the damage caused by alcohol is up next. This is becoming something of a PSA, isn’t it! This is Rod Stewart, back in the days when he made good records:

What’s Made Milwaukee Famous (Has Made A Loser Out Of Me) was released as a double A-side with Angel in November 1972, and got to #4 in the UK charts. The only other chart placing for it was in Australia, where it got to #71. Angel had been included on his album Never A Dull Moment, which came out in July 1972 and reached #1 in the UK and #2 in the US. It was one of the albums that formed the soundtrack to my uni days, as I started there three months later. This song wasn’t on a studio album, though it has since appeared on compilations. Both tracks were covers. Angel was a Jimi Hendrix song – his version is great, and I prefer it to Rod’s – and Milwaukee was written by Glenn Sutton. Its title is a reference to Schlitz beer, which for many years was advertised with the slogan, “The beer that made Milwaukee famous.” It was first recorded in 1968 by Jerry Lee Lewis, who took it to #94 in the US Singles chart.

Today’s final tune is also from the Seventies, and is one of my favourites from the time when disco was everywhere and I needed an antidote. These guys provided it:

Dr Feelgood were formed in 1971 in Canvey Island, Essex. Their two main original members were Lee Brilleaux, seen on vocals here, and guitarist Wilko Johnson, who had left the band by the time Milk And Alcohol came out, and then joined Ian Dury and the Blockheads. They were known as a pub rock band, and were very popular around Essex and London. I remember seeing them one evening after work, and they were huge fun: one of the rowdiest gigs I’ve ever been to. But I managed to leave the venue still in possession of my briefcase, which I regarded as quite an achievement! This was released as a single in January 1979 and made the top forty straightaway, eventually peaking at #9 – their only top ten entry, though they had several others in the lower reaches of the charts. It had been included on their album Private Practice, which came out in September 1978 and made #41 in the UK Albums chart. They were fun, and I enjoy a wave of nostalgia whenever I hear this one.

That’s all for this week – another motley selection of tunes from the depths of my mind. How many of them did you know? I’m guessing that at least two of them were new to most, and the others may have dropped out of your memory. I’ll see you again soon, and until then have a great week 😊

 

71 thoughts on “Tuesday Tunes 202: Alcohol

    • I thought those would both be new to you, and I’m pleased you had another download. The Hart/Prior version is also worth hearing – they count them as four, including the one who joins them part way through.

      Oasis are on my list for a follow up 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Well, Clive, you were spot-on when you said I wouldn’t know any of the five! I … um … am trying to think … of something … let me just go back to my nice, quiet world for a moment and perhaps I can think of something … something … nice to say …

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well, I’m sure this is going to come as a complete shock to you but I didn’t know any of these songs! 😂 I had the best time listening to all of them! These are real toe-tappers and I do love hearing that fiddle. This was a lot of fun, Clive; no alcohol necessary! 🎶♡

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This feels like one of those themes that might run three weeks, considering all of the great songs involving alcohol. My favorite was the first one. I was quite familiar with the song yet amused that I didn’t have an inkling who the group was that sang it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You may well be right! I already have enough for another set without even trying too hard.

      I don’t think Chumbawamba had lasting success over there so I’m not surprised you couldn’t have associated them with this song without a prompt. It’s still a favourite of mine even after all this time, and seeing them perform it live was quite an experience!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. One I recalled from those dim grim days- or at least the long long painfully bad mornings after- was ‘Bottle Of Wine,’ the Fireballs- and could the name of the band and the song not have been tied together any batter?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m banned from it on medical grounds, as I said in the post. Makes me a cheap date!

      I thought British readers such as yourself would remember the chart hits here. That’ll be handy for me with SLS – I’ll have done my thinking well in advance 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Can you have alcoholic free wine?
        We had a guest for Christmas Dinner last year and we were all on medication so a glass of wine was out of the question. I found a ‘posh’ elderflower flavoured water which was really nice and suited all of us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can have non-alcoholic wine and beer but I’ve never enjoyed them. To me they are like decaffeinated coffee: something is missing!

        I usually go for something like Schloer fizzy drinks at Christmas: they do both red and white wine pretend versions. Not the same though, is it? I’ve not tried elderflower so thanks for the tip 😊

        Like

      • It’s light and fruity. My Dad made elderflower champagne and I liked the taste. I can’t remember the brand of this, but I got it from Tesco for about £3. It wasn’t one of their cheap flavoured waters, but a Spring water sold in a glass bottle.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That sounds like Fentimans or Fever-Tree. I’ll seek them out when the time comes. Schloer do theirs in glass bottles too, to make you think it is like the real thing!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. For me there is only one song about alcohol worth listening to. I have never liked the effects of alcohol, though I love the taste of a good Dark Cuban Rum, maybe once a decade.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup! It was a regular highlight and we took to watching for him when the DJ was advised to play that one. I think I was set up that year! None of us stretched to a brick suit though. They were committed to their politics but always made their music fun, and were great when I saw them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A great post , I really do enjoy all your choices, I love the Celtic vibe. But the stand out one for me is Chumbawamba…..such a great group they were the business as you say more to them than first appearances.
    Oh! And your office party story …
    Hope it was not as bad as this!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You are creative, my friend! 🙂 I have to say they were all new to me.
    When you said songs about alcohol, Red, Red Wine popped in my head right away. and I knew I wouldn’t see the old country tune, “There’s a Tear in my Beer” in your selection. LOL!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Terrific list…I would add two others: “Cigarettes & Alcohol” by Oasis, with Liam Gallagher’s sneer literally coming through the speakers, and “Margaritaville”, both as a tribute to Jimmy Buffet and also because it’s just a fun song….again, really enjoy your list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, John. I was aiming for some lesser known ones with these. I did actually consider both of those, and they are on the reserve list of possibles.

      Like

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.