Tuesday Tunes 6: Being Apart

I was looking back at the posts so far in this series and realised that one of last week’s songs had already been featured. Oops! But thank you for not pointing it out if you noticed – I think I got away with it though. Neither of this week’s pair has been seen here before – it’s ok, I double checked!

I don’t know about your country, but here in the UK some members of the government have been making tentative suggestions about the possibility of ending the lockdown. And then others say it’s too soon. That could be viewed as different people having different views on a topic, which is perfectly normal. But I wonder if I’m alone in finding it scary when it is being said in the context of saving lives? Yes, I know the economy is tanking – like it is everywhere – and that is important for people’s livelihoods, but ours would have tanked anyway with Brexit, so I’d prefer it if the people allegedly leading the country put lives before profits. And it would be good if they could at least present a united face in public – the problem, I guess, is for them to decide which of their double faces to show. (And if you think that paragraph was stupid, I was just being sarcastic while awaiting the delivery of my Noble Prize).

We are seeing newspaper reports of a growing disaffection and impatience with the lockdown, such as increased traffic levels. But, this being Britain, our pea-brainers can’t arm themselves to the hilt and go out demanding that they can get a haircut. There was, apparently, a protest at the weekend, but the police outnumbered the seven protesters who turned up. The serious side to this is that we are unable to visit friends and family, or have them come to us. I’m feeling that particularly keenly: it was my elder daughter’s birthday just before the lockdown began and we hadn’t been able to see each other in time for her card and gifts to be shared. Then there was Easter, which has left me with some chocolate eggs whose sell-by dates are in early June. If the curfew isn’t lifted by then, I may have to eat them myself. Well, they would only go to waste otherwise….

There is also my granddaughter’s birthday on 6 June. She will be 2, and I really hope to be able to see her, my daughters and son-in-law, but that is beginning to look unlikely. It has, however given me this week’s theme: being apart. Not that either tune is about seeing a 2 year old, but they are both about coping with distance. When all this is over, and queuing online at midnight to get a grocery delivery slot has become a thing of the past, I suspect that for many of us the abiding memory will be the pain of being apart from loved ones. Not that this is anything to do with children and grandchildren, but I’ve always thought that Stephen Stills gave us good advice in this one:

As I live alone that advice isn’t much use to me, though, and I won’t be taking that thought any further: this isn’t that kind of blog!

This week’s second song is also from the 1970s. Music can be a comfort blanket for us, and I guess that going back to the music of my youth – I was 22 when this was released – is a way of coping with the necessity of lockdown. Again, the lyrics aren’t really much about the current situation, but I would imagine that many of us have thought this about someone recently:

As you will no doubt have noticed, that version is from the Live 8 concert in 2005. I am a long-term Floyd fan, so it was particularly emotional for me to see them all on the same stage again for the first time in 24 years, no doubt as the result of Bob Geldof’s unique style of (expletive deleted) persuasion. I remember it to this day: it was a hot July Saturday evening, I was still married and living with my wife and daughters. I was washing up the dinner stuff and watching it on the portable tv in the kitchen. I suddenly became aware of two things: that I had tears running down my face, and that one of the girls was watching me, not knowing why, or what she should do. A quick explanation persuaded her that Dad was really ok, and nothing more was said. But when I think back to that it brings home to me with some force the feelings engendered from being required not to see those that we love. It also emphasises for me the power of music and its importance to me: if you’ve ever wondered why I often post about music, there’s your answer!

This may not have been the most uplifting piece in this series so far, but it is consistent with my ongoing approach of focusing on something which is important for us all at present. At least I didn’t include the Smith’s Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now! Actually, I never would, as I can’t stand them or that song! I said at the outset that these posts were intended to entertain you and maybe make you reflect on our current shared situation, and this one is definitely in that second category (in case you hadn’t noticed). We’re in lockdown here at least until 7 May and, I suspect, for a good deal longer than that, so there are plenty more of these to come. I already have next week’s theme in mind and I promise it is more upbeat! Till then, be safe, follow the rules, and stay well.

 

34 thoughts on “Tuesday Tunes 6: Being Apart

  1. Pingback: A Tuesday Tunes Reprise | Take It Easy

  2. A lovely post, Clive. South Africa has partially lifted the lock down from today. There aren’t a lot of options here because we are not a wealthy country and our people are going hungry. Lots of people have rushed out to shops to buy winter clothes and other things. I think they are mad. I will wait out May and see how this new steps pans out. We have about 300 new infections a day and that was with the complete lockdown. We are also struggling with not seeing family. My one sister was very sad this morning so we had a group facetime chat and virtual hug. It’s not easy but I need to protect my son and my elderly parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would have eaten the Easter eggs by now! Cyberspouse is one of those with the 12 week sentence, so in my new role as carer and shielder I am quite content ( resigned ) to carry on like this for a while. But though it is far worse for many, I do think we have to persevere and not undo what we have achieved so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been tempted, I’ll admit! It’s good to see the government making the right noises about not rushing to change things – if only they had been quicker to act in the first place!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You decided to throw us a bone this week, Clive, by putting out a couple of songs that you knew we’d be familiar with. No need to apologize for the theme not being more upbeat. One of the beauties of music is there is something to cover just about any mood or feeling that we experience.

    Thanks for sharing that beautiful story of your daughter, wondering why her dad was crying. It made me think of my dad, and that part of his German upbringing was to rarely express such feelings. Your daughter may not have fully understood it at the time, but perhaps she did later when some piece of music touched her soul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s why music is so important to me, Pete, and should be for everyone! I’m sure she understood, as she was a musician herself – though I never managed to persuade either daughter to share my musical tastes!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Interesting songs again. Always loved Stephen Stills, not so sure about Pink Floyd. I seemed never to be so quite caught up with the Pink Floyd. I had a brief flirtation with the Smiths, a bit too intense for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Pink Floyd and also share your views on The Smiths although I do secretly quite like How Soon Is Now? We are missing family here too. I had a birthday yesterday spent in lockdown and no immediate prospect of seeing my lovely Nan anytime soon and she only lives down the road. I’m sure it won’t be too much longer and we can all be together again. You with your family too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words. Any remote possibility that I might like the Smiths disappeared when Morrisey turned out to be a racist, as well as a twat. Happy birthday for yesterday – I hope you weren’t alone for your special day, and get to see your Nan soon. Keeping 🤞for an end to all this.

      Like

  7. Brilliant choices of song for a post written from the heart and speaking the collective heart of virtually all. Except the bozos who put pedicure, tattoos and hair cuts ahead of the health of not just themselves but, more importantly those around them whether they know them or not. I do hope you will be able to see your family soon. I do hope that you will be able to celebrate your little granddaughters birthday together. But you are so right. Now is not the time to rush at things. Now is the time to be as cautious as a mouse looking out of his hole with the possibility of a predatory cat lurking. It is very hard. But risking never seeing those we love again because they have been exposed to this deadly disease and not made it through. That doesn’t bear thinking of. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your – as usual – lovely words. It became more personal and heartfelt than I’d originally planned, but if we don’t share a little of ourselves in our blogs we may as well not bother! I agree completely about the need for continuing caution, and hope that the selfish and stupid ones don’t make things worse than they already are. If not seeing the little one on her birthday is the price to be paid for bringing this nightmare to the earliest possible end, then so be it xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I thought the tenor of the piece was perfect. Just the right balance of heart but not head holding. I’m right with you – I’ll miss my Granddaughters first birthday but surviving and being fit to see her grow up and thrive and my daughters all being able to get on with their chosen paths and tackle whatever unexpected gifts and bumps cross them along the way for a long time to come is a price I am more than willing to pay if it means we can get this nightmare under control. X

        Liked by 1 person

  8. wonderful post, Clive. I actually knew both songs this week, and I like how you have tied them together with the theme of being apart I’m also hoping officials take the most cautious path to reopening businesses, placing lives above profits.

    I hope you get to be with your granddaughter on her birthday; those kinds of things are tough to miss.

    And in honor of this wonderful post, I hereby award you a Noble Prize. This prize gives you the right to eat all that Easter candy and feel no guilt…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jim, I appreciate your kind words. This weeks were a little more mainstream, I think – not always guaranteed with me! I’ve started theming these posts, though some of the tunes stretch things a bit. It gives me more to write about, rather than just saying ‘here’s a song.’ I have slightly more confidence that our government will make that choice than yours, but the bar is pretty low for both. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for 6 June – if nothing else I’ll probably have arthritis by then!

      Thanks for the award: I will cherish it, whilst trying not to make myself sick on the chocolate 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • I thik it makes your posts more interesting when there is a theme connecting your choice of songs. Maybe you shouldn’t tell us what the theme is – see if we can guess it by the songs you select. Suggestion – for next week’s Tuesday’s Tunes, have all the songs have the word blue in it. Anything ore subtle than that I’ll never guess.
        Let’s hope our governments get things right; I’m glad to hear that Boris seems to have recovered.
        And be careful with that chocolate, I don’t think this is the time for being sick…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree on the theming. I didn’t plan it that way, though: the first few posts had a kind of theme but I’ve tightened it up. An interesting thought to play ‘guess the theme,’ I’ll think about it. The obvious problem I can see is that I may be stretching the song choices too much for anyone to guess! Thanks for the idea, I’ll add that to the list: next week’s theme is already chosen 😉

        I really don’t have much confidence in either government, but there’s always hope that they might actually step up to the plate at some point. I’ll try to avoid making myself ill with the chocolate, but it is so tempting….

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m jealous that you already know what you are going to write about next week. I still have no idea what I’ll be writing about today. I’ve still got about 12 hours to figure it out…

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s easier when you don’t write every day! I’ve tried that, but even by my quality standards I could tell it wasn’t a good idea for me. Looking forward to what you think up 👍

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I feel the same about music and it often brings me to tears. I’m sure your daughter realized that her dad was human after all. A wonderful story. Two great picks too. Pink Floyd, true musicians! Have always loved Stephen Stills too. Have a great week, Clive.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.