Tuesday Tunes 78: Tuesday

Yes, you read that title right. It struck me last week that I have at various stages posted songs which have mentioned particular days of the week, but hadn’t ever devoted a whole piece to one day. What better place to begin than the day on which these are published? And it also gives me six further ideas for future posts! So, for this week, my theme is: Tuesday. There are, for me, a couple of obvious ones to begin with, and no doubt you will be familiar with some of them, but there are also some which are less well known: come with me on a voyage of discovery.

I’ll start with the one you are probably all expecting:

There’s nothing like being predictable, is there? I doubt that I need to tell you much about this song, as it is one of the best known of the Rolling Stones’ catalogue – which is saying something! This one was written by Keith Richards about his girlfriend of the time, Linda Keith, a fashion model. It was released in January 1967 as a non-album single, as the A-side in the US, and as part of a double A-side release in the UK: the other track was Let’s Spend The Night Together, which was deemed too naughty for radio audiences. The songs reached #3 in the UK and this one was #1 in the US. It also featured on the US release of the Between The Buttons album, but was excluded in the UK: in those days, we often had to buy the singles separately. The album peaked at #3 in the UK and at #2 in the US.

You may also be acquainted with the cover version of the song released three years later by the folk singer Melanie Safka. Melanie gave it a very different feel:

If I hadn’t already known and loved the Stones’ version I would have loved this one too, as I was a fan of Melanie. But this one never really did it for me – it was ok, but it just didn’t feel right to me somehow, possibly as the stripped down accompaniment missed some of the orchestration of the original. As a single, this reached #52 in the US, but was her first UK hit, getting to #9. The album from which it was taken, Candles in The Rain, peaked at #17 in the US and #5 in the UK.

This next one may well be another that you know. I think I was lucky to find this live performance, as it is fabulous:

There is so much joy and energy in that video: everyone on stage really seemed to be enjoying themselves, and the audience lapped it all up. Although that is from his 1976 tour, the song was originally to be found on Cat Stevens’ album Teaser And The Firecat, released in October 1971: it reached #2 in both the UK and the US, as well as in Canada, but was a #1 in Australia. The song wasn’t a single in its own right, but featured as the B-side to Peace Train, which reached #7 in the US but wasn’t a hit here. Did you notice that one of Cat’s guitar strings broke during the song, but he carried on regardless? Who needs six strings anyway!

Here’s one I’m fairly confident you won’t know (go on, surprise me!):

Primal Scream aren’t well known across the pond, but they have had a string of hit albums in the UK, other parts of Europe and in Australia, going all the way back to Screamadelica in 1991, in their days as wannabe Rolling Stones: that album included the top ten single Rocks, which is probably all that most people will know of them, if anything. Fewer still will be aware of their beginnings as an indie pop/rock band, which is where this track comes from: it was released as a single in June 1987, reaching #86 in the UK, and became the opening track on their debut album, Sonic Flower Groove, in October of that year. Some title, eh? It could have come from twenty years earlier, which I suspect is what the band had in mind. The album peaked at #62 in the UK. This is some way from the raucous rockers they became a few years later, but I think it’s lovely, and wouldn’t have been out of place on a Stone Roses album. There are hints of Byrds influences in there too, with those jangling guitars – it definitely has a Sixties feel to it, which is probably why I like it. [A PS: this one may not work for you in the US. A link to the official audio version may have more success: https://youtu.be/RLbqHnEEWYU ]

You may well know of The Pogues but again I’m guessing that this one may have passed under your radar:

This was the opening track on their sixth album, Waiting For Herb, which was released in October 1993: it was their first album after Shane MacGowan had left the band, and peaked at #20 in the UK. It wasn’t a chart hit in the US, but they generally fared much less well over there anyway. It was the first single taken from the album and reached #18 in the UK, thus becoming their first UK top twenty hit since the original release of Fairytale Of New York in 1987. The song was written by Spider Stacey, who stepped up from his usual tin whistle duties to take over as lead vocalist for the album, and drew favourable comparisons with The Clash’s Joe Strummer for his sound. I rather like it – it has a nice, easy feel to it – and I also like the way they worked in clips from several of their earlier videos, too. Whisper it quietly, as The Pogues were very much an Irish band, but Spider is actually English. Still, it was good to see the band having a lead singer with all his teeth.

I’ve remarked previously that I have long been a big fan of The Moody Blues, so this next choice may not come as a surprise – it is now their fifth appearance in this series:

I was expecting to have to give you an audio-only version for this one, so finding this live performance was a real bonus for me – and I hope for you, too. As you may well know, this was a track on the Moodies’ concept album Days Of Future Passed, which was released in November 1967. The album performed respectably here in the UK, reaching #27, but was a huge hit in the US, where it got to #3. The original album version of this track was called Forever Afternoon (Tuesday?) but it was slimmed down to the simpler Tuesday Afternoon for its edited release as a single – it got to #24 in the US and #12 in Canada, but wasn’t a hit here. It took until their next album, In Search Of The Lost Chord, before the British record buying public caught up with the fact that they weren’t making records like Go Now any more!

For this week’s final selection I’m revisiting another of my favourite bands: I’ve featured them here twice before, and both times they received a good response. I have actually included this song in an earlier post in this series, but I make no excuses for repeating it, as it is lovely:

As I said when I shared this song before, I find the beauty of Margo Timmins and her voice irresistible. The Cowboy Junkies come from Canada, and still have the same line up – including Margo and two of her three brothers – as when they began in 1985. They have never been a band to storm the charts, but have a loyal following who appreciate just how good their music is. I think this is beautiful, and the video has a lovely feel to it, even though the song is actually about a break up. It was on their 1990 album Caution Horses, which reached #11 in Canada, #33 here, and #47 in the US. This track was released as a single, peaking at #22 in Canada and #90 here, but didn’t make the US chart. They are very much an albums band, though: there is nothing wrong with that, and I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see this one again.

So, that was Tuesday. Not a bad day for songs, really, and I might see what I can do with the other days of the week – but not next time, as there is something special coming up. Well, it’s special for me, anyway! Covid rates are rocketing again here in the UK, and I would suggest that you take the precautions advised by the government, if they had actually done anything about the current situation. So, just take good care of yourself and your important people, or you might find me doing some more posts of lockdown music!

I hope you have a great week, and do stick around for a musical Halloween treat from me on Sunday, before I return with my special edition next Tuesday.

63 thoughts on “Tuesday Tunes 78: Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tunes 86: Saturday | Take It Easy

  2. Pingback: October Skies | Take It Easy

  3. Hi Clive
    Great idea for posts – the days of the week!
    And I am quite glad you did not add Tuesday’s gone from lynard skynard – I sorta liked it but have grown so tired of it – blah!
    And cheers to the moody blues and stones’ ruby Tuesday
    Hope you had a nice week 🎶

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Yvette,

      It was a simple idea, and I was surprised I hadn’t thought of it before. I did consider the Lynyrd Skynyrd one but already had enough for the post. Not one of their best, anyway. Glad I found some others you enjoyed!

      Not been a bad week, thanks, hope yours has been good 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • He Clive / I know a few folks who would say that Tuesdays Gone was truly one of their best / but I agree with you – and say not so / but would say a medium best – for whatever that means! Lol

        And glad you had a good week – and mine has been pretty sweet / this month marked officially having yoga back in my life and that sure makes me feel better. The pandemic really
        Impacted my yoga practice because I prefer classes and well – not complaining – mild problem to have as others had more major issues – but I realize how much my body needs yoga / lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Clive – and my body was carrying so much stress – it was subtle – and I only realized it in the last few months or now that I am doing it again- I see that various yoga classes help me release all that gunk – and not all classes are the same so I think you know it took me more than a decade (or more) to finally find yoga classes that were doable and enjoyable – but for a long time it was something my mother and I kind of hated – so yeah – to each their own
        And of course music is a great destressor Am- isn’t that right DJ Clive?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow, so many comments left on this thread. Well done.
    Thank you so much for sharing your post at our Senior Salon Pit Stop linkup ending this Saturday, October 31.
    I pinned this on our Senior Salon Pit Stop InLinkz Linkup Shares board and also share it on Twitter @EsmeSalon with #SeniorSalonPitStop

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The ones I was most familiar with (The Moody Blues and Cat Stevens/Yusuf) are my favorites this week (That’s not always the case.) Of course, I know the Stones, though I’m one of the odd ducks who isn’t a big fan. I remember Cowboy Junkies. As you predicted, I was unfamiliar with The Pogues or Primal Scream. I liked Tuesday Morning best of the new ones. This should be a fun series. I assume you’re going to tackle the other days of the week in future episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I hit on some you liked, Pete, but I think I need to play more Stones for you! It’s always good when I introduce something new, and I like that Pogues one too.

      I will be taking on all of the days, but may spread them out a bit. Something different is already planned for next Tuesday anyway 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, Clive love the cartoon caption and your Tuesday Tunes.
    Such a great collection. Excellent job
    Totally agree with you on your Ruby Tuesday assessment and the energy of the Stones.
    Holly Molly, that was wild to see amazing Cat Steven’s guitar string whirling around and him not missing a beat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cindy, I’m pleased you enjoyed them. And I’m glad you agree with my assessment – I think you’re the third to comment on it and we’re all in agreement so far. I would have suggested that Cat Stevens was very professional about that but I think he was having so much fun that he probably didn’t notice! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you think that!

        He’d already had more than a year out after contracting TB, which nearly killed him, so I guess he probably didn’t think a stray string was all that big a deal! It is a fun watch, isn’t it 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • It wouldn’t have seemed like it to him at the time but it became the making of his career. Having had a few early pop hits he wrote loads of songs while he was recuperating, and they were what he started releasing once he was well enough to record again. If you like him, I did a whole post on him a few months back – just put his name into the search box on my site if you’re interested. Or bored…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not at all but wild how things change on a dime. Wow, well he seemed to be no worse for ware on the count of it. Oh I don’t think I noticed that but will check it out for sure. Thanks for letting me know Clive. I wish I knew what bored was… or don’t lol. 💖

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Ellen, glad you enjoyed them. Mick Jagger has said that is his favourite of the songs Keith Richard’s has written and he always enjoys singing it: high praise from one who should know!

      I guess that might not be one of the Moody Blues’ better known songs here, as it predates the time when the reconstituted band hit it big. It was released as a single but I think it fits better in context as an album track.

      Like

      • Clive, more than occasional. You are a wealth of knowledge. I love these introductions. By the way, I surprised my kids when I told them I liked “The Killers,” so my daughter gave me their latest CD as a belated BD gift. Keith

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s good to surprise the kids like that, isn’t it. I once put on a Bowling For Soup CD when taking my older one back to uni – the look on her face was priceless 😊

        Like

  7. great way to start off, that was the first song I thought of as well.

    I agree with your take on the cover version. it’s not bad, but it doesn’t come close to the original. I am a fan of Melanie’s as well – Brand New Key is a favorite.

    great song choice from Cat; haven’t heard that one in a while. forgot how much I liked it. always fun to watch him live…

    Primal Scream did not play for me…

    was not familiar with the Pogues song, but I loved it. it’s got an accordion and a banjo – how could you not like it!

    Tuesday Afternoon is a good choice, another one that I have not heard in quite a while…

    great song to close with, and I agree, the Cowboy Junkies are a talented group. And while it is Tuesday morning here, it doesn’t look like the sun is coming up.

    thanks for a wonderful collection of songs to wake up to on a Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jim. There was nowhere else to start, was there, and I’m glad it’s not just me on the Melanie version.

      Cat Stevens is great live, I finally got to see him in 2009 and it was like he’d never been away. Maybe not quite so energetic, though…

      Sorry about Primal Scream. I’ve just updated the post to include a link to the audio version. I hope that works, as I think you’ll like it.

      The Pogues were always a favourite of mine and it was good to see them continue for a while after their leader left. It’s a good song, too.

      The Moodies now have a clear lead on appearances in this series!

      And there was no way I’d omit the Cowboy Junkies, even though it is only four months since I last played that one!

      Hope you get to see some sun today – it has struggled all morning to make an appearance here!

      Like

      • the video from Primal Scream worked. I have to admit the name kind of misled me; I thought it sounded kind of of punkish, like the Dead Milkmen 🙂 But it was a nice gentle song. thanks for including the audio link.

        and we are supposed to have rain through tomorrow…

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s good to hear, thank you for trying it. Their name is a bit misleading, possibly more suited to the way they developed a heavier rock sound. If you don’t know it, and have a few minutes to spare, check out their video for ‘Rocks’ and you’ll see what I mean in the Stones comparison. And both are infinitely preferable to the Dead Milkmen!

        Sorry about the rain. We are due to get a lot from Friday through Sunday…

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.