Earth Day 2024

I have written about this for the past couple of years, and am largely relying on last year’s post as the basis for this one. No apologies for that: the message is still just as necessary and vital. Next Monday, 22 April, is Earth Day. First held in the US on April 22, 1970, it was opened up to the rest of the world in 1990 and now includes a wide range of events coordinated globally by EarthDay.org (formerly Earth Day Network) involving 1 billion people in more than 193 countries. On Earth Day 2016, the landmark Paris Agreement was signed by the United States, the United Kingdom, China, and 120 other countries. In recognition of this many communities engaged in Earth Day actions: an entire week of activities was focused on the environmental issues that the world faces. On Earth Day 2020, over 100 million people around the world observed the 50th anniversary in what has been referred to as the largest online mass mobilisation in history.

54 years on, the message is more vital than ever. The official website leads with this statement:

“Join us to honor and celebrate our remarkable planet on this extraordinary day. Earth Day is a reminder of the importance of environmental conservation and sustainability, encouraging us to come together and take action for a healthier planet and brighter future.”

Earthday.org have produced a brief video to promote the day, which this year takes as its theme Planet Vs. Plastics. This is what they say:

And they have also given us this snappy little number:

There are many more videos that have been made by other organisations to support Earth Day. I have played this one from NASA before as it struck a chord with me:

I think that tagline of Our Planet, Our Home should be engraved on all of our minds. Some appear to have forgotten the message or have never taken it to heart – unfortunately, many of those in a position to do something about the challenges the world faces fall into that category.

A couple of years ago I posted Tuesday Tunes 81: Environment, the theme of which was songs of protest against the way we are treating our planet. I won’t repeat the whole piece here, but you can follow that link if you’d like to see which songs I chose. Several of them were of similar vintage to the beginnings of Earth Day, and whilst some progress has been made in the fifty or so years since then there is still so much more we can and need to do. It was no coincidence to me that I shared those songs three weeks before my second granddaughter was born: whilst I’m 70 and have to accept that my days on the planet are more behind me than ahead of me, what kind of future will she have? What will the world be like by the time she reaches my age – in 2091 – if it still exists?

My small contribution to Earth Day is to share again some of the songs from that piece, as a reminder to us all. They are all from my usual suspects! The first is from a Cat Stevens album released in 1970, Tea For The Tillerman, which was reworked in 2020 to mark its fiftieth anniversary:

I think that video is absolutely brilliant. This is some of what I said when I played it before: “The song’s message is even more powerful now than it was fifty years ago. This is one that has never been released as a single, so may not be familiar to you, but I think it deserves to be heard. I saw him play live in 2009, as part of a series of concerts to mark the 50th anniversary of Island Records. He began with a track from his newly released album, and then played this: you could have heard a pin drop, apart from the audience singing quietly along with him. We were all word perfect, and there wasn’t a dry eye in the house!” I share his concerns for my granddaughters’ future.

This next one is still one of my all-time favourite songs, almost fifty years since it was first released:

There are many live versions of this song – a couple of very good ones with Joan Baez in particular – but I’m choosing to go again with the one I have played before. Not only does this date from three days before I saw Jackson Browne in concert (though he didn’t play this!) but it was a show he shared with his long-time friend and collaborator, David Lindley (he’s the one on the pedal steel guitar). David died in March 2023, and the outpouring of heartfelt tributes to him showed how much he was loved and respected. This is by way of my own tribute to his memory, and to how much I enjoyed his part in that concert back in 2010.

This is the one with which I closed that selection:

And this is part of what I said then: “This was the closing track on Queen’s album, The Works. I can still recall the first time I played the album, sitting in stunned silence after it finished until the click of the needle going round and round on the vinyl jolted me back to reality. How much power is there in that two minutes of music? I think we should all play that song on a regular basis, in case we are ever in danger of forgetting its message.” It still has that same effect on me now: the power and beauty of its simplicity really enhance its meaning, to my mind.

I mentioned in that previous post another song which I had thought to include, but shied away from due to the extreme difficulty of getting a version which the record company will allow us to hear. But, on reflection, I’m playing it today in the hope that it will be available to you, wherever you are. It describes how our predecessors have invested in the planet, but not necessarily in ways which would protect and prolong its life, and it is another of those songs which is still just as relevant for a reminder today as it was in 1976 when it was first released:

That video has been on YouTube for over ten years so I hope you can see it. If not, maybe this official audio-only version will play for you. The song is, of course, written from an American perspective of history, but those of us in other countries have done our bit to destroy what nature has given us, though we haven’t driven out the native population in doing so. This was the closing track on what I still think is The Eagles’ masterpiece album, Hotel California, and the phrase ‘Last Resort‘ is a pretty good summation of our chances at solving the climate change issues that the world faces, I think.

You may well see something about Earth Day in the news over the next few days. Please don’t let it pass you by. All the news we see about fossil fuels and our dependence on them, heightened by the continuing effects of wars in Ukraine and Gaza, as well as elsewhere, should be reminding us of this every day. This isn’t just an issue for the ‘woke,’ cranks and weirdos – it affects us all and will define what kind of planet we bequeath to our dependants, or even if we do leave something sustainable for them. We don’t want this to be our legacy, do we:

82 thoughts on “Earth Day 2024

  1. Pingback: Bye Bye April | Take It Easy

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Tunes 197: Intros 6×6 | Take It Easy

  3. thanks for the thoughtful comments about Earth Day (and what a coincidence I’m reading your post on Earth Day!). And as always, a great selection of songs, which I remember from prior years. How can you not love the Cat Stevens song and video…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Clive, well done. I am listening to Yusuf/ Cat as I type this. Great update to this wonderful song. Per Dr. Sandra Steingraber, most environmental data measures the impact on a 50 year old. Like Yusuf, where the children play is more important. Kids’ brains and lungs are not fully developed, kids mouth breath more, kids touch everything and put their hands in their mouth, they are closer to the ground and weigh less. Toxins hurt them more. If that does not scare you enough, playground equipment used to include treated wood laced with arsenic to keep termites away. Keith

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Earth Day…22nd April 2024… “Planet vs. Plastic” – Retired? No one told me!

  6. This is a perfect Earth Day post, Clive … just perfect! Thank you … hopefully the people on this planet will wake up and realize that this is truly the ONLY place we know of that can sustain any of the lifeforms we know of here on Earth, but that every day we are adding to the destruction of our home. 

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sadly, too many in positions of power are in the pockets of the fossil fuel and other industries who are fighting tooth and nail against environmental regulations. But there is still hope, if We the People take our environment and our grandchildren’s future seriously and demand action, boycott the companies that are adding to the problems, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I wish I could say that it is, but … sigh. I see entirely too much of what I call “me-ism” … what’s convenient for ME, or what makes ME happy, as opposed to what’s best for the environment, for the world, for the future. Sigh.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Whoa! You picked some winners with me today. I love every track. The only I hadn’t heard was from Queen, a band that most people like better than me. What an incredibly beautiful song. It’s my new favorite of theirs. The Last Resort was blocked for us in the USA, but I’ll post a link.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you liked them, Pete. All chosen to support an important message. I feared that might happen to the Eagles one, and added a link to another version into the text of the piece. I think it’s the same one as yours, though with the way their record company controls things who knows!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know for years members of the band railed against their videos being viewed. They were almost always blocked in America. I don’t know what’s changed, but as one of my all-time favorite bands, I’m grateful.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s still very hit and miss here. The one I embedded in the post is an unofficial one, which illustrates the song with photos and paintings. I’ve played it before and it worked over there, but I guess they’ve tightened up even further!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Curiouser and curiouser. This song was not blocked in Canada. I do wonder how the “Music Powers That Be” determine who is worthy of hearing what. It all seems so stupidly arbitrary!

      Liked by 2 people

  8. All ones to make us think a little more. Very nice cutting wordplay on ‘investing in the planet.”The Last Resort’ hasn’t been pounded into gods once good green Earth yet, unlike the title track of the album. Which is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for reminding us about Earth Day, I don’t think I’ve heard anyone mention it in the media. Aside from the human tragedy of current wars, every missile fired and drone dropped means more poisoning of our precious atmosphere and more destruction of precious soil that should be growing food.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, Clive, you put a great playlist together. Cat Stevens making the intro catches you right away. I think I have not heard the Queen song before, but it had the same effect on me as you described yourself hearing it for the first time.

    I don’t understand why so much plastic is still in use since we know about the problem. I can get so mad when, for example, I see vegetables and fruits are wrapped in plastic. There is no need to do wrap a cucumber or apples in plastic? I avoid buying such items and choose the lose pieces.

    Thank you for spreading some much needed awareness, Clive!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Erika. I’m glad you liked them, as they are such intelligent, meaningful songs. That Queen song does have that effect, doesn’t it!

      We need to reduce our use of plastics dramatically. I try to do my bit, but as I have to buy my groceries online I don’t always have as much control as I’d like.

      We all need to be spreading this message before it is too late – if it isn’t already.

      Like

      • I agree, change starts with the consumer. In my own company I am producing and selling natural cosmetics. The only plastic I use are the tubes for lip balms and aroma sticks because I have not found affordable alternatives yet that meet the quality standards. Basically I use grasspaper and recycled paper and boards for boxes, wrapping, and bags. I am trying to act as sustainable and environment friendly as possible. Still, there is potential…

        Also, in our household we are separating litter to the detail. That way it is even better visible how much comes together of paper, glass, plastic, aluminium, … It is shocking how much the plastic part still is.

        It is only too late when we give up. I will not give up by any means.

        Liked by 1 person

      • There are some more things we are doing to shrink our footprints. Still, there is more we can do, but I try to keep working on it. And thank God, many are joining in or are even further. The problem is, are we fast enough with our changes? I believe we need drastic changes which could really work wonders.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I fear that governments are doing too little, too late. The concerns have been there for many years but few have made a real commitment to doing anything about it.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Erika,

      if you ask the illustrious Premier of the Provinvce of Alberta (Canada) we have to keep making plastics so that Alberta can raise money to support the red neck way of life. If we stop using plastics and convert to electric vehicles, Alberta will lose all its revenues and all that oil sitting under the earth will go to waste — “We cannot allow that to happen. We must protect the jobs of our citizens or we will become a have-not province!”

      We are already a have-not province because of Danielle Smith. We have not good health care. We have not good social programs. We have not good public education. We have not the resources to fight all the wild fires caused by climate change. We have not any compassion for the rest of the world.

      What we do have in Alberta is the richest province in Canada but none of the rich people care about the homeless, all the people dying from bad drugs, overwhelned hospital and emergency medical personnel, the lowest and slowest paid doctors in Canada, the worst programs for the working poor who are allowed to fall through all kinds of cracks, and a governments that wants so badly to leave the Canadian Union that it keeps telling its citizens we are being raped by the federal government.

      in other words, what we have are regressive politicians catering to the oil and gas and coal industries sitting around drinking booze while the rest of the world is collapsing around them, singing “We will survive because we are assholes!” forgetting that 90% of the goods they use come from other places in the world they think they have no use for.

      Sorry for the rant, Clive, but I got on a roll and couldn’t stop. The world needs to know who the real enemies of humanity are!

      Alberta is one of them!

      Liked by 2 people

      • After all I read in your comment I understand your emotions and anger well. It is as you said, a small percentage (not willing to give up on their life standard) decides over the rest of the people without considering their needs at all. Unfortunately this is still happening all over the world.

        Liked by 2 people

Please leave a reply, I'd like to know what you think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.